Hands-On Windows

Hands-On Windows
Photo by MontyLov / Unsplash

I listen to a number of podcasts on the TWiT.tv Podcast Network. I like to support media I like when I can so I've been a member of Club TWiT for some time. This gives me access to the shows ad-free as well as members only shows such as Hands-On Windows.

Hands-On Windows hosted by Paul Thurrott, a technology journalist. He has written field guides for using both Windows 10 and 11 as well as a number of other books.

The weekly show presents tips for getting the most out of a Windows PC whether its improving its performance or changing it visually to suit your taste.

The episodes are usually in the 15-20 minute range. They are available in both audio and video formats. I prefer the video as it's easier to follow Paul's instructions.

Some of the episodes are available for free. The latest is this one:

Choosing Your Web Browser | TWiT.TV
This week Paul goes through his list of suitable web browsers to keep you safe and secure on the web.

In it he goes through how he chooses a browser. He introduced an online tool I hadn't heard of before. He uses the Cover Your Tracks tool provided by the Electronic Frontier Foundation (EFF) to check a browser's privacy settings. It's a quick check that displays whether your browser blocks ads and trackers by default or if it randomizes its fingerprint to prevent tracking across the web.

He also displays which extensions should be added such as Privacy Badger and an adblocker like Adblock Plus.

It's a checklist worth considering when testing different browsers or moving to a new machine.

I learn something new every time I watch the show.

Subscribe to Tom Conneely

Don’t miss out on the latest issues. Sign up now to get access to the library of members-only issues.
jamie@example.com
Subscribe